See who has won the Western and Southern Cincinnati Open

cincinnati open zoe alexander

Western and Southern Cincinnati Open 2023 – who are the previous winners of this prestigious US Open Series tennis tournament?

Cincinnati History – From Club Court to Center Court

The Western & Southern Open is the nation’s oldest professional tennis tournament played in its city of origin.

First played in 1899 on the site of current day Xavier University, the Open has been a fixture in the Queen City for more than a century. The champions list reads like a who’s who of tennis greats, with more than 100 International Tennis Hall of Famers having played in Cincinnati over the years.

Cincinnati Charity – A Force for Good

While delivering great tennis to the world is the main product, the Western & Southern Open’s primary mission for decades has been to use the event as a force for good. Over the past decades the tournament has given more than $12 million directly to key community beneficiaries.

The event benefits the following charities.


2021 Contribution: $100,000

Lifetime Contribution: Over $9 Million

The men’s tournament has been played for the benefit of Cincinnati Children’s since 1974. From its inception to 1987, the tournament proceeds have supported Treatment Center II. Approximately 11,000 patients were served in the dermatology, audiology, and ear, nose and throat clinics. From 1987 to the present, funds from the tournament support the Five Plus Clinic, a follow-up program for long-term survivors of childhood cancer. The clinic provides care for patients who have successfully overcome cancer and who require on-going follow-up visits with pediatric specialists. Donations to Cincinnati Children’s have exceeded $9 million over the past 40 years.

cincinnati open zoe alexander

Previous winners of the W & S Cincinnati Open

Let’s take a look at winners of this historical US Open Series tournament from this century starting from 2000 to last year 2022. Prior to 2004 it featured almost without breaks on the Men’s tour with winners reaching back all the way to its inception in 1899. The Ladies event ran from 1899 until a break from 1974 to 1988, played 1989 then was absent until 2004, after which both men and women resumed play for the titles.

Here are the Men’s Singles Winners for the period 2000 to 2022 starting with the most recent:-

  • 2022 – Borna Coric/CRO
  • 2021 – Alexander Zverev/GER
  • 2020 – Novak Djokovic/SRB
  • 2019 – Daniil Medvedev/RUS
  • 2018 – Novak Djokovic/SRB
  • 2017 – Grigor Dimitrov/BUL
  • 2016 – Marin Cilic/CRO
  • 2015 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2014 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2013 – Rafael Nadal/ESP
  • 2012 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2011 – Andy Murray/GBR
  • 2010 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2009 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2008 – Andy Murray/GBR
  • 2007 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2006 – Andy Roddick/USA
  • 2005 – Roger Federer/SUI
  • 2004 – Andre Agassi/USA
  • 2003 – Andy Roddick/USA
  • 2002 – Carlos Moya/ESP
  • 2001 – Gustavo Kuerten/BRA
  • 2000 – Thomas Enqvist/SWE

And the Ladies’ Singles Winners for 2004 to 2022:-

  • 2022 – Carolina Garcia/FRA
  • 2021 – Ashleigh Barty/AUS
  • 2020 – Victoria Azarenka/BLR
  • 2019 – Madison Keys/USA
  • 2018 – Kiki Bertens/NED
  • 2017 – Garbine Muguruza/ESP
  • 2016 – Karolina Pliskova/CZE
  • 2015 – Serena Williams/USA
  • 2014 – Serena Williams/USA
  • 2013 – Victoria Azarenka/BLR
  • 2012 – Li Na/CHN
  • 2011 – Maria Sharapova/RUS
  • 2010 – Kim Clijsters/BEL
  • 2009 – Jelena Jankovic/SRB
  • 2008 – Nadia Petrova/RUS
  • 2007 – Anna Chakvetadze/RUS
  • 2006 – Vera Zvonareva/RUS
  • 2005 – Patty Schnyder/SUI
  • 2004 – Lindsay Davenport/USA
cincinnati open 2020 novak djokovic

Cincinnati 2023 – Who are our favourites?

Aug 13 to 20 – For the Men’s event we have our money on Novak Djokovic after his triumphant win at the Australian Open this year, despite nursing an injury he came through the clear winner against the Greek player Stefanos Tsitsipas. Although we cannot rule out the challenger “El Toro”, Rafa Nadal, if he can keep injury free this season.

Ladies tennis has been dominated this past 12 months by Iga Swiatek from Poland, following the retirement of former No. 1 WTA champion, Australian Ashleigh Bartek. Close followers are Aryna Sabalenka/RUS, Ons Jabeur/TUN, Americans Jessica Pegula and Coco Gauff, and Caroline Garcia from France. Also playing with form who is in with a reasonable chance in our eyes has to be Maria Sakkari. The Greek gladiator had been playing some superb tennis up to the AO2023 which sadly saw her depart early on in the Grand Slam.

Zoe Alexander honours the Cincinnati Open

We have just released the first round of our “Open Series” of tennis outfits for this year. The Zoe Alexander Cincinnati Open Dress is still under wraps but we can show you the colours we have chosen in recognition of the US Open Series choice of blue courts.

Take a look at the newly released Cincinnati Open Tank Top, Fleece Long Sleeve Top and Capri Leggings. We look forward to seeing more photos of our #ZoeAlexanderGirls and Boys on court in action!

Send us your images to or WhatsApp on +44 7849 502790.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *